Hello Salt Lake City!

I-80

Last weekend my girlfriend, our friend Travis, and myself decided to surprise Travis’s wife for her birthday. We decided to buy Vance Joy tickets and drive to Salt Lake City, Utah, for the weekend. Now I am a big proponent of random adventures and unexpected journeys but I’m going to be honest with this one…I was nervous. Nervous because I had a lot of work to do for my MBA program and really didn’t want to get behind in my classes. Then my girlfriend, Kayla, reminded me that these were the types of adventures I was building my personal brand on. These are the adventures I live for. Once I heard that, the only thing I could picture were the beautiful mountains of Utah and good times.

Ok lets get one thing straight. I didn’t go on this trip primarily for the Vance Joy concert. In fact, I only knew one song by Mr. Joy prior to the trip (now I think I know three, woohoo!). I went on this trip because I knew I would learn something new about the area, my friends, or myself. I love to grow and learn and what better way to learn about an area than to completely immerse yourself in it. After the eight-hour drive through “scenic” east Nevada, we arrived at our hotel and unpacked our stuff. We began the night at the amazing Red Rock Brewery and planned out the next days adventure.

park_city
Park City, Utah

On Saturday we decided to see what Park City had to offer. As soon as we got there, we instantly regretted not bringing our snowboards. To make ourselves feel better, we went to a brewery and enjoyed some local beers, food, and each other’s company. Later that evening we headed back to Salt Lake City for the concert. The venue had been changed on us last minute but we weren’t going to let that bother us! Once inside we fought our way through the crowds to a good spot and enjoyed the show. At this moment I wasn’t thinking about school or work, all I had on my mind was the concert and my company. Times like these can be rare in our busy lives, so it’s important to soak them in while they happen.

This trip reminded me that sometimes it’s best to do something a bit out of the ordinary and take random trips. Sometimes when we are at our busiest these trips give us the mental break needed to recuperate our thoughts and trudge forward. After this weekend, my stress had dropped and I was able to finish my school and professional work on time. I felt refueled and refreshed! So go out and take that day or weekend trip you have been putting off, it might help you more than you think!

Have a cool story to tell? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

